Artery

what am I

I’ve been broken, beaten and confused. I’ve been stripped bare and mixed vigorously. They’ve laid me down in clean sheets and colored me black. I’ve been marked up and drawn on. Over and over again. They’ve put a label on me and they always refer to me as a name I didn’t ask for. Everyday they use me and they abuse me. I feel the warmth so much that it wears me to nothing but raw material. The friction between us is so ecstatic it burns me. Over the days, months and years, I shed parts of myself. I lose who I am only to replaced in a poor manner. They toss blame on me and make me feel less and less of myself but they never realize that they are doing it.
I’ve been ripped from the ground and glued back together only to break apart again. I’ve been stripped of my dignity and have had it replaced it by something else. I’m seen everyday but never acknowledged. I live my life to please others but never to be pleased. I let them walk all over me and they always do. I’m never enough to stop them.

What am I?

Leave a Reply

